Life!

            Too much, dude.”  We were at Elia’s on Third Avenue, one of the best Greek restaurants in Brooklyn, and Tony Sherry was echoing the sentiments of the girls, who were shaking their heads as if to say they didn’t even want to be associated with ordering five appetizers for four people.  “Okay, dude,” I said, “But you know my policy.”  My policy has always been crystal clear.  Always over-order.  You don’t absolutely have to eat everything, but at least you’ll have all the flavors you’re looking for.  If you under-order, you can’t go back for something crucial you might have missed.  But in this case, I didn’t necessarily disagree with the group.  We were doing two saganaki’s (Fried cheese with lemon), grilled octopus and a large Greek salad.  With entrees and desserts I knew it would be a lot.  I always stagger out of that place.  So we capped the appetizers at four.  I went with the Australian lamb chops with oregano fries and spinach.  Tony went with the veal chop, and the missus went with the lamb ravioli.  Mrs. Tony Sherry went with the filet mignon, which, interestingly, came with both potatoes and red wine risotto.  I thought two starches was a no-no.  Didn’t the two brothers say so in the movie Big Night?  I could have sworn.  But there it was.  Two starches.  Each one more delicious than the next, I might add.  And the desserts are always crazy.  Ek Mek (for those of you that don’t know what that is, go into a Greek restaurant one day and try it), hand pressed yogurt, rice pudding, and assorted gelatos and sorbets dotted our table.  It was really over the top.  Great as usual, though. 

            While we were out we could keep tabs on the game at the bar.  We couldn’t see it perfectly, but we could see that there wasn’t a whole lot going on.  A 1-1 tie.  Somewhere along the way I started getting text messages from Petey Goods.  I didn’t know the final until seconds before I walked in the door, as I watched the Yankees website update with the news that the Yankees had walked off courtesy of Robbie Cano.  I immediately went down to the basement where Big Joe (who was baby-sitting with my mother-in-law) was watching the NBA playoffs.  And Big Joe gave me the lowdown on the day’s events.  Mets, Yankees, you name it.  Petey Goods, in one of his texts, made reference to Girardi doing a Billy Martin impersonation.  Big Joe told me why.  Interesting play.  I have no idea if the thing hit his bat, but you wonder how it was the catcher that talked home plate Chris Guccione into making the call.  That was a bit odd, but I’m all for getting it right.  So if it hit the bat, it hit the bat.  I think everyone gets what Girardi was doing.  Putting the Steinbrenners, the fans, and the City of New York on notice that he will start knocking some stuff around if he has to.  Fire in the belly always plays well in this town initially.  After that box is checked, the characterizations will hopefully get a bit more rational.  And it was a good show…

            So we’re back to getting Joba back in the rotation.  Not that I don’t think he can do it, or should do it, eventually, but I would have liked to see a commitment one way or another for 2008, and then re-evaluate after the season.  This is a panic move.  And who in the rotation goes away?  Moose, Pettitte, Kennedy, or Rasner?  Not that any of these guys has exactly tattooed a smile on your face this year, but I hope the front office has a very good plan, here.  Because so far I don’t like it. 

            I hope the Mariners are still the kind of target they were back when we first played them a few weeks ago.  Bedard has always given the Yanks fits, but they got him last time.  The Yankees had lost three walk-off games before tonight, and tonight was the first time they’ve won one all year.  Is a little mini-streak too much to ask at this point?     

7 comments

  1. mikeeff

    you can’t just leave joba to pitch in relief and then re-evaluate for next year. the point is GETTING his innings stretched. that doesn’t happen if if you don’t move him along THIS year.it’s a great move even if there are some 8th inning pains along the way. there have been so many other kinds of pain this year, that this is a move we have to do.

  2. nycnav

    I partial to Halloumi (also fried cheese of a different variety). So, I’m back to watching and must admit, Kennedy pitched well and was in some ridiculous jams, but he got out of them and that is what impressed me. Can he pull that off everynight, i doubt it but i’ll take it. After reading what everyones been writing i was really nervous with Cano up there with 2 outs in the bottom 9. I thought here is their chance, extras it’ll be a toss up. I watch the replay at least 10 times and the ball did not touch the bat. I was merely a terrible call and could have decided that game which would have had me breaking stuff. Happy Memorial Day all and hope to come back to sweep of seattle and another win over the Os.

  3. joefromnewhampshire

    Girardi’s tirade almost looked stage, to get the team to try and respond. At least that is the way it appeared to me. I tuned in right when it happened, and it was tough to tell if the pitch hit the bat handle. It almost looked like it had some movement away from Giambi, but it was tough to tell.

    As for Joba, I agree that you might have wanted this to be solved before the season. Now you may very well have a gaping hole in the pen. And I understand that Joba will be more valuable as a starter, and I also understand the bullpen has pitched decent enough. But right now they sit 7th in the AL in bullpen ERA. What is going to happen when you take one of the best in the game out of the mix? I don’t know about that guy in AA that may help, but they may need to make a move to make this work. I like Joba as a starter, but there has to be something done quickly to find a reliever, and they shouldn’t just wait around until the trading deadline.

    http://statisticianmagician.mlblogs.com/

  4. mikeeff

    joe, the point is that the umpire made NO call until it was POINTED OUT to him by ramon hernandez, the opposing catcher that it foul tipped. that is why everyone was in such a state-delayed call for the wishes of the orioles catcher.

Leave a comment