Bronx Carnival

         “I got two for tonight.  Who wants in?”  I had called Tony Sherry, but Acc answered.  Apparently the Sherry brothers, Mikey Juice, and Acc were all at lunch together in the Rock.  Without bothering to ask how that happened, I just posed the question to Acc instead of Tony.  “What do you mean you have two?  I had the two and I gave them to Paddy B [of the 2006 Wifflemania Champion Blue Balls] and his brotherDo you have the three?” asked Acc, who was now confused.  “No dude, these aren’t ours.  I got them at work.  They’re in section 14.”  I heard Acc announce the situation to everyone at the table.  Mikey Juice grabbed the phone.  “Of course I’m in.  Tell me where and when we’re meeting and I’ll be there.”  “Alright,” I said, “Let me go get the tickets and I’ll call you back.”  I hung up.  Thirty seconds later my phone rings.  It’s Acc directly.  “Dude, Juice isn’t taking that ticket.  I’m taking it.  I’m in.”  It didn’t really make a difference to me, and I figured Juice was cool with being usurped, as he was sitting right next to the big boy when he called me.  “Okay, dude.  See you at 1978….”

         Wow.  Flashbulbs popping everywhere, the crowd rabid.  It was truly electric at the Stadium tonight.  Not exactly in a playoff kind of way, more like a carnival.  And the place just rolled in waves of alternating anticipations and explosions.  For nine innings. 

         There is some housekeeping to attend to in the final analysis of this, the 106th game of the Yankee season.  The Yankees tied their all-time record of 8 home runs in a game, as 7 different players hit bombs tonight.  Perhaps most interestingly, of course, none of them were named Alex Rodriguez.  The Yankees picked up ground on both Boston and Cleveland, and now find themselves just 3 games out of a playoff spot.  For anyone interested in stats, the Yankees led all of major league baseball in runs scored at of the start of the Detroit game, although as of right now they’re behind by one.  We’ve been talking a lot about run differential the last few days, and how it so pungently illustrates the Yankees outlier status on the statistical leader board.  With all of the division leaders and wild-card leaders clogging up the top ten in run differential; there are the Yankees, all alone on the very top of the heap, with a major-league best 130 more runs scored than allowed, a full 5 runs better than second-place Boston.  And yet they are not in first place, not currently in a wild-card position, and not even runner-up to a wild-card position.  Just goes to show you what a wild first half it was for them.

         It’s not like this should come as a great shock to anyone.  The first half of the season saw Bobby Abreu having the worst three months of his professional career, Robbie Cano falling from an All-Star who was among the top 10 in the league in batting last year to a .240 hitter with no power.  His buddy, Melky, looked like he was swooning in a vicious sophomore slump, was hitting .230 with no power.  Johnny Damon was hurt and useless, and Jason Giambi was hurt and slightly less useless, as he was hitting some bombs before he went down.  But when he went down he went down.  Even the Ferocious Lion looked like a shadow of the player who was so devastating two and three years ago.  Now you’ve got Damon healthy, hitting .250 and starting to come on, Abreu at .275 with his power stroke coming back, and Cano, Melky, and the Ferocious Lion all at .290 or better, with ever-increasing bombs.  Which, frankly, is where they should be.  And Allie and Jeter are both where they should be.  The only positive outlier is Posada, who, bless him, is still hitting .339 after a four-hit night tonight.  And with Phil Hughes coming back, you’ve got five very capable starters taking you through the last two months of the season.  This is not a team to fool around with.

         So the post-script on the trading deadline, for me, is that the Red Sox in essence swapped Joel Piniero for Eric Gagne on the 2007 roster, but were unable to land Jermaine Dye or a more reliable outfield bat than Wily Mo Pena/JD Drew.  The moves beg a lot of questions for 2008, as Gagne will be a free agent this year, and the Red Sox already have a closer.  We thought.  But this isn’t 2008.  It’s 2007.  And they’re better today than they were yesterday.

         As for the Yankees, they needed a back-up catcher, a set-up man, and maybe a better option at first.  The catcher had to be someone who could give you something offensively and wouldn’t hurt you defensively.  Jose Molina is that guy.  Love the move.  I don’t really get the Proctor for Betemit move.  I know Proctor is whatever he is, but I’m not sure I understand why the Yankees are so in love with Wilson Betemit.  Because he can play any position?  So can Miguel Cairo.  And he certainly doesn’t have any kind of offensive numbers that jump out at you.  And he’s no kid, at 27.  So I guess I’ll resign myself to being confused.  The story, as far as the set-up situation, is not any deal made, but a bus ticket purchased.  Joba Chamberlain is going to attempt to ride into town playing the role of K-Rod or Bobby Jenks in 2002 and 2005, respectively.  Or Mariano in 1995, for that matter.  So we’ll see how that works out.  And it appears, waiver wire notwithstanding; that they will stay with Andy Phillips for the time being, as the hole isn’t as prominent when the rest of the team is hitting.  It’s also not as prominent when it isn’t a hole.  For now.

         Two last things.  As the big boy and I sat in section 14 (a little strange) tonight, who did I see sitting two rows in front of me?  None other than mlblog’s Zack, the baseball collector.  “Hey baseball collector,” I called out.  He looked up, somewhat startled.  “You here to catch A-Rod’s 500th?”  “I’m going to try,” he said.  “I enjoy your blog,” I said.  “Best of luck to you.”  “Thanks,” he said.  And there you have it…          

         Last, Scott Proctor.  I know he is not enjoying his flight out to the West Coast.  He was erratic and tough to watch at times, but he was also the only guy outside of Mo you could trust at times.  And you never saw him dog it, you never saw him go half-*ss, and you knew that every time he went out there, he wanted to do everything in his power to help the Yankees win.  And I’ll take a guy like that any time.  Best of luck, dude.  Thanks for putting your heart into it.

22 comments

  1. luckyleftie300@aol.com

    Cool meeting the baseball collector, too bad there wasn’t a number 500 A-Bomb for everyone to fight for. I too am confused with the Proctor deal, why coudldn’t Cash make it Nuke instead? Awesome offensive output by the Yanks but them scoring so many runs in one game has a way of making runs scarce later in the series, let’s hope they can keep it up. Go Yanks.

  2. happymediums@msn.com

    I’m gonna go out on a limb here and say that for the 5-7 years Wilson Betemit will be a more productive cog in the Yankees machine than Scott Proctor could or would be in that same time frame. Although I appreciate what the guy did his ilk of middle reliever is a dime a dozen in this league. Not to mention under the “Joe Torre I trust you so much I hate your arm club” that he was a prominent member of I gotta think he is going to hit a brick wall soon. Are we going to miss Proctor this year? YES!…..next year and the year after that? My super powers tell me NO!

    The main point of all this is it means Farnsworth is still on the team. Hopefully the dumb hillbilly pitches his tail off for the next few months and from there regains some trade value over the offseason. Do you guys realize that last night was only the 5th! time in 45 appearances that he got a 1-2-3 inning?

  3. tswechtenberg@gmail.com

    great post…it certainly was a night that i wish i’d been there. it’s funny you mention zack who is a good friend of mine. i called him early in the game to see if he managed to even find a ticket. unfortunately it was the moment moose gave up the homer.
    i loved how the crowd greeted farnsy with such love and warmth. maybe he needs that kind of kick in the pants to get his act together

  4. joseph

    Did the “Baseball Collector” respond by saying, “Thanks Bleeding Pinstripes?”

    And Raoul, if you are going to reveal that we are family, as you did on the last blog. Also state that we came here independently of each other, finding out who I was when you finally clicked on my “statisticianmagician” link. This is not some kind of conspiracy where we have like 30 other family members ready to crush the BPS comment section. 🙂

    http://statisticianmagician.mlblogs.com/

  5. joseph

    Oh, and you referred to 2008 for a brief moment Geoff. As far as 08′ I like the rotation because even if we had kept Gabbard, it would have been Buchholz, Lester, Dice-K, Beckett, and then Gabbard. So we gave up our fifth starter, which is not too difficult to replace. I have read scouting reports on him, etc. And they say that he will be a 4th or 5th starter (on average). Now he may be better than this, may even be worse, but the fact is I believe that he helped us more this year, giving us rotation depth, then he may help us in the future. He is pitching well, but it was a “sell high” kind of deal. Now who knows maybe he will be Tom Glavine, but maybe he will be Jamie Moyer before the age of 33. I did like him, but for the future he isnt an integral part of the rotation.

    I actually heard a few people say that Texas hadnt really made out that well on this trade. Focusing on Gabbard, it is worth taking a chance on him, right? Their pitching is garbage year in and year out, and Gagne wasnt serving them any real purpose (free agent after the year, and they are out of the race). So why is getting their future fourth or fifth starter, a fourth OF, and a CF who may be decent (only 17 now) a bad trade? It wasn’t a groundbreaking return, but they need these pieces, so obtain them. Anyway, I am ranting.

    http://statisticianmagician.mlblogs.com/

  6. raoul_oba@hotmail.com

    Joe, I’ve been posting at BPS for three years now.

    It would have been awkward me knowing you and you not knowing who I was so I came clean.

    The bottom line is I was here first and these are my yankee fans to abuse. When you came in here and just started abusing them when I was clearly here already abusing them was just rude.

    If you had just asked I would have been happy to lend them out for occasional abuse, maybe a M-W-F schedule type deal.

  7. miwil36@ny-yankees.net

    Nice game to be at. We also picked up a game everywhere. Nice to see we are not the only one’s Baltimore can beat up on.

    A few observatons;

    1)This is not some kind of conspiracy where we have like 30 other family members ready to crush the BPS comment section

    Judging by what I’ve seen happen, I think they would be ignored, or verbally abused to the point they would not post here for long.

    2)As far as 08′ I like the rotation because even if we had kept Gabbard, it would have been Buchholz, Lester, Dice-K, Beckett, and then Gabbard.

    People blow their arms out get hurt traded, arrested, and have off years. There are no promises or guarantees for “tomorrow”. There is only today, and sometimes not even. Look at the basketball coach who dropped dead while running (may he rest in peace)-I am sure he didn’t expect it. No way can you assume a projected rotation.

    3) They (the Sox) are banking on having a lead and having a “lights out” bullpen. They gave up a proven left hand pitcher for a guy they will only have for a few months (longer if they sign him in the off season).

    We have gotten to Okajima, and Paplebon, and the Sox need a lead to use what they hope are three stoppers.

    Last nights game was a good example of them having three people that they will not be able to use. It could be enough to take the Sox over the top, it may not be.

    Tavarez will go tonight for the Sox, instead of Gabbard-we have a better change to make up another game-but no guarantee!

    Short of some miracle the Sox will not face Gabbard this year, but the time will come.

    Gagne is changing divisions, and going from a last place to a first place team, and will be in the limelight and expected to continue to perform. Can he shoulder the weight?

    They are stronger, but will they be better? We shall see.

    LET’S GO YANKEES!

  8. miwil36@ny-yankees.net

    I was here first and these are my yankee fans to abuse. When you came in here and just started abusing them when I was clearly here already abusing them was just rude.

    I’ve not been here long, but how can you go into someone’s house and say such a thing? I thought you had more class than this.

    Does being here three years give you the right to make such a vile statement with total disregard for the people that take you in?

    Something tells me your going to pay for this one…

  9. raoul_oba@hotmail.com

    Even if we did have 30 family members descend upon BPS that ain’t no reason to git scared.
    Sure some of us has got six toes on one foot but, most all of them is as normal as Joe and me.

  10. joseph

    I understand that projected rotations arent always definite, but we have the money to go out and replace Gabbard next year.

    And I disagree with Gabbard being a [proven] left hander. He has proven so far that he is capable, but how he holds up the next time around against teams is up in the air.

    And the fact that Tavarez is starting tonight does ****.

    And Raoul, I was talking about you coming to telling BPS that we were family. And I was telling all the other commentors, outside of you and I, that we were not going to bring a bunch of other family members to bring wrath upon their opinions. 🙂

    http://statisticianmagician.mlblogs.com/

  11. miwil36@ny-yankees.net

    Being from Mass I have a ton of friends that are Sox fans. We all know what lines to cross and what ones not to. Basically calling us your *itches to me crosses a line (sorry ladies).

  12. raoul_oba@hotmail.com

    Well Joe, I got your uncle Vernon right here and when he read that ‘Boston su$ks’ comment above, he grabbed the mouse and started cussin’ a blue streak into it.

    I explained to him that it wasn’t a microphone and he’d have to type a response on the keyboard and he said “Well, forgit that.”

  13. miwil36@ny-yankees.net

    The bottom line is I was here first and these are my yankee fans to abuse.

    If you had just asked I would have been happy to lend them out for occasional abuse, maybe a M-W-F schedule type deal.

    Posted by: raoul_oba@hotmail.com | August 1, 2007 01:13 PM

  14. raoul_oba@hotmail.com

    ah….the old I’m going to ignore three years of insanity and get offended by a phrase…not even a phrase…a paraphrase.

    LOL

  15. miwil36@ny-yankees.net

    I took it as a joke just passing the joke along. I’ve only been here a few months, not the three years he has. Just trying to keep us one up!
    Mike

  16. miwil36@ny-yankees.net

    Oh and my dry humor tends to go by people. I’m just jabbing thats all. Others may feel differently. Maybe my meds have not kicked in yet. Don’t take it personally. I am not 🙂

  17. miwil36@ny-yankees.net

    Nice article. I’ll read it more later. I always look at the walk/strike out ratio of a pitcher when I look at his stats. I generally find any pitcher with a 1-3 W-S ratio is worth his salt. This article projects Hughes right around there, of course like I said there are no guarantees. Hope he works out. We will have an almost brand new rotation next year. I hope he is part of it.

Leave a comment